Screen Reader Access Skip to Main Content Font Size   Increase Font size Normal Font Decrease Font size
Indian Railway main logo
Search :
Find us on Facebook   Find us on Twitter View Content in Hindi
National Emblem of India

About Us


News & Updates


Supplier Information

Passenger information

Contact Us

         Mechanical (Power)

Goto Yahoo!!

Bookmark Mail this page Print this page
Mechanical (Power)


Divisional Mechanical Engineer (O&F)

Phone (Office): 0341-2303563

Mechanical Engineering(Power) wing is responsible for Crew Management of Diesel Loco hauled trains over Asansol Division. Besides that this wing also maintains Disaster management facilities as Accident Relief Trains at Andal and Asansol, Self Propelled Accident Relief Medical Van at Asansol and a 140Ton Break down crane. In addition to the above, this wing also maintains 4 Railway owned weighbridges at Asansol, Andal and Waria, fire extinguishers and weighing machines at various stations.


The Organisation Chart of Power Wing is as under:


Primary job of Crew booking lobby is to provide crew for diesel loco hauled trains. These lobbies not only provide crew but also keep record of their proper rest, counseling, safety awareness and learning of routes.

There are four Crew Lobby in Asansol Division

Madhupur:- Facilitates running of Diesel loco hauled Mail/Express/Passenger trains in Madhupur Giridih Section and Jasidih Dumka- Barapalasi Chandan section.

Also, provides Crew for diesel loco hauled freight train for loading in central coalfield Ltd. Giridih.

Asansol:- Facilitates running of Diesel loco  hauledMail/Express/Passenger trains in Asansol –Jhaja, Asansol- Kiul and Asansol- Barauni section.

Also provided crew for diesel loco hauled freight trains for loading in  Eastern Coalfield Ltd. J.K.Nagar and Balaji Ltd. Durgapur and military siding Panagrah and L&T at Durgapur.

Andal:- Facilitates running of Diesel loco hauled Mail/Express/Passenger trains in Andal – Rampurhat, Andal – Sainthia, Andal – Jasidih (via- Barabani), Andal – Malda – Andal, Andal – Howrah Andal, Andal – Suri – Howrah (via-Prantik) section. 

Also provides Crew for diesel loco hauled freight trains for loading of coal covering all colliery sidings (Industrial Pilots, Andal – Ukra, Andal –  Purusottampur-1 + Purusottam -2 + Madarboni + Samla + Dalurbandh +   Kottaddih. Andal- Ukra:- Shankarrpur + Bankola Andal – KJME:- Parascoal (east) Parascoal (west), Jaipuria + Nabakajora.Andal – Vimgrah:- (Kastha Sdg.) Andal – ICML : - (Via- BBI), BHN Andal – Topsi:- Belbandh, Topsi Goods Sdg. Andal – Sonachara: - Parasia, Jambanch, Basra.)

Sitarampur:-  provides Crew for diesel loco hauled  freight trains for loading of coal  to Eastern Coal field Ltd  & Coal Mines Ltd. Baraboni.


There are four Railway owned weighbridges available in this division. These weighbridges are of Electronic in motion type. These are maintained by Mech. Engineer Deptt. Power wing.




Andal- I & II

2 Nos. Electronic in motion Weighbridge.

120 Tonnes


1 No. Electronic in motion Weighbridge.

120 Tonnes


1 No. Electronic in motion Weighbridge.

    120 Tonnes


Mechanical Engineering (Power) Department is also maintaining and operating the disaster management facilities.

Accident relief trains are at Asansol and Andal. Whereas Break down crane (140 T) capacity at Asansol. Auxiliary van of Medical van is also at Asansol.


This wing also maintains the Fire extinguishers. Checking and refilling of these fire extinguishers are done as per periodicity fixed. 


Source : Eastern Railway CMS Team Last Reviewed on: 10-06-2021  

  Admin Login | Site Map | Contact Us | RTI | Disclaimer | Terms & Conditions | Privacy Policy Valid CSS! Valid XHTML 1.0 Strict

© 2016  All Rights Reserved.

This is the Portal of Indian Railways, developed with an objective to enable a single window access to information and services being provided by the various Indian Railways entities. The content in this Portal is the result of a collaborative effort of various Indian Railways Entities and Departments Maintained by CRIS, Ministry of Railways, Government of India.