Screen Reader Access Skip to Main Content Font Size   Increase Font size Normal Font Decrease Font size
Indian Railway main logo
Search :
Find us on Facebook   Find us on Twitter View Content in Hindi
National Emblem of India

About Us


News & Updates


Supplier Information

Passenger information

Contact Us

      About Us

Goto Yahoo!!

Bookmark Mail this page Print this page
About Us

Asansol Division

Asansol Division was established in 1925.  It is located encompassing three states; West Bengal, Jharkhand and Bihar (covering nine districts viz. Barddhaman and Birbhum in West Bengal, Jamui and Banka in Bihar & Dhanbad, Jamtara, Giridih, Deoghar and Dumka in Jharkhand).  The important cities under this Division are Asansol, Raniganj, Andal, Durgapur, Panagar, Sitarampur, Barakar, Kulti, Kumardhubi, Chittaranjan, Vidyasagar, Jamtara, Madhupur, Jasidih, Simultala, Deoghar, Baidyanathdham, Basukinath, Dumka, Giridih, Pandabeswar, Dubrajpur, Siuri etc.  The Division is predominantly a loading Division. From passengers’ point of view, this Division is quite important since it connects Kolkata with Delhi and other important places of Central and Northern India.  There are two Airports inside this Divisional jurisdiction; namely Deoghar Airport which is only 22 Kms. away from Jasidih Station and Andal Airport which is 34 Kms. Away from Asansol.
This division runs about 110/120 Mail/Exp. Trains and about 120/130 Passenger Trains.

The Division extends on the main line from the distant signal of Khana junction in the east to distant signal of Jhajha station in the west. On the Grand Chord line, the administrative control of Asansol Division is upto the distant signal of Pradhankhunta. Territorial jurisdiction of this division also extends over following branch lines:-





·Jasidih to Dumka

·Deoghar to Banka

With a total of 683.44 route kilometers, the division has the unique distinction of having quadruple lines (two up and two down lines) from Khana to Sitarampur.

Asansol Division loads approximately 50-60 MT goods mainly comprising of coal, steel, cement, fertilizer, stone, sand and food-grains etc. loaded from Raniganj, Mugma, Jamtara and Giridih regions by ECL, BCCL & CCL.

Other goods include cement loaded at DCW Durgapur, UTCL Durgapur and Lafarge Raniganj, Steel materials from Durgapur and IISCO and parcel traffic originating from Asansol, Durgapur, Raniganj, Madhupur and Jasidih.

Major power houses like Mejia (DVC), Bakreshwar (WBPDCL), DTPS (DVC) and DSTPS at Waria are also served by this division. Large number of sponge Iron plants and mini steel plants are also located on the division.

Places of interest for passengers include Baidyanathdham, the abode of Lord Shiva where devotees throng in lakhs during the Shravani Mela period. Giridih is famous as a gateway terminus to Parasnath temple and Ushree falls. Bakreswar has hot water springs, which is about 30 Kms from Siuri station and is a quiet place of retreat and the water is said to have curative property. Maithan Dam is located at a distance of 23 km from Asansol which is the biggest reservoir in the Damodar Valley Corporation. This dam attracts lots of tourists for its unique underground power station and is a natural picnic spot. The ancient Kalyaneshwari temple lies very close to this dam. In other side of Asansol city, at a distance of 23 km Panchet dam and Garh panchkot hill are there which attract lot of tourists throughout the year.