Screen Reader Access Skip to Main Content Font Size   Increase Font size Normal Font Decrease Font size
Indian Railway main logo
Search :
Find us on Facebook   Find us on Twitter View Content in Hindi
National Emblem of India

About Us


News & Updates


Supplier Information

Passenger information

Contact Us

About Us
         About Us
            About us - Introduction

Bookmark Mail this page Print this page
About us - Introduction

Division is serving six major district of state, (West Bengal ), this covers the geographical landmarks between river Hooghly on the west, Bangladesh on the north and eastern sides and the sunderbans on the southern flanks. Division is divided into three geographical zones i.e. north and main, central and south. It extends in boundary in north upto Lalgola having wings from intermediate junction stations upto Santipur, Gede, Kalyani Simanta and in the east Bangoan and Hansnabad. In the south zones extends upto Canning, Namkhana, Diamondharbour and Budge Budge. In west zone upto Bally Halt. Circular rly. Starts from Dum Dum Jn. To Ballygunge via Princep Ghat and Majerhat. One elivitated new connectivity has been made from Cantonment Stn. To N.S.C.Bose Airport which is an unique feature in Indian Railway. Division deals with international traffic of Bangla Desh through Gede and Petrapole. Division achieved new mega coaching terminal at Chitpur named as Kolkata Terminal. Total route Kilometre of division is 722 Kilometre with 104 Block stations, 48 Flag stations, 51 Passengers Halt and 5 Block cabins.

Source : Eastern Railway CMS Team Last Reviewed on: 13-09-2011  

  Admin Login | Site Map | Contact Us | RTI | Disclaimer | Terms & Conditions | Privacy Policy Valid CSS! Valid XHTML 1.0 Strict

© 2016  All Rights Reserved.

This is the Portal of Indian Railways, developed with an objective to enable a single window access to information and services being provided by the various Indian Railways entities. The content in this Portal is the result of a collaborative effort of various Indian Railways Entities and Departments Maintained by CRIS, Ministry of Railways, Government of India.