Screen Reader Access Skip to Main Content Font Size   Increase Font size Normal Font Decrease Font size
Indian Railway main logo
Search :
Find us on Facebook   Find us on Twitter View Content in Hindi
National Emblem of India

About Us


News & Updates


Supplier Information

Passenger information

Contact Us

About Us
         About Us

Bookmark Mail this page Print this page
About Us



The Railway network under the jurisdiction of Sealdah Division earlier formed the western part of the Eastern Bengal Railway. The Eastern Bengal Railway was formed after the State acquired the lines owned by the Eastern Bengal guarantee Railway on 1st July, 1884 and amalgamated with the North Bengal State and South Eastern Railways. On 1stJanuary, 1942, Assam Bengal Railway and Eastern Bengal Railway were amalgamated to form Bengal Assam Railway System which was divided according to the political boundaries and Sealdah Division became a part of Eastern Railway on 14.4.52 after reorganization.

The Section between Kolkata (presently Sealdah) to Ranaghat was opened on 29.9.1862 and the section between Ranaghat – Darshana (now in Bangladesh) was opened on 7.8.1897.


Serving six major districts of the state of West Bengal, the division covers the geographical land mass between river Hooghly on the West, Bangladesh on the North Eastern sides and Sundarbans on the Southern flank.

Kolkata is the Central Business District of West Bengal. The flow of passengers’ traffic is basically centralized towards Kolkata. The Sealdah terminal is more or less situated in the heart of Kolkata City and thus the Sealdah station itself plays a major vital role in management of suburban traffic.


Kolkata, Barrackpore, Diamond Harbour, Dakshineswar, Krishnagar City, Nabadwip Ghat, Murshidabad, Plassey, Shantipur etc. attract visitors in large numbers throughout the year due to their historical and religious background.


Sealdah has two terminal complexes viz. Main / North corridor and South corridor. The main corridor is further divided into three spurs from DumDum Jn. One towards Dankuni, second towards Naihati –Ranaghat-Gede, Krishnanagar – Lalgola and third towards Bangaon –Barasat-Hasnabad. In the South Budge Budge line takes off from Ballygunge station. Canning section starts from Sonarpur whereas branches from Lakshmikantapur – Namkhana and Diamond Harbour take off from Baruipur. There is linking between north and south via Kankurgachi – Park Circus chord.

Kolkata Terminal was inaugurated on 30th January, 2006 by Hon’ble M.R., which handles mail/express trains and is also linked with the circular Railway.

Dum Dum Jn also plays as an important terminal where Metro and Circular Railway terminates.

There are 32 terminal stations other than Sealdah where trains originate/terminate according to the need of the commuters.

Our location in Eastern Railway map click here

See System Map of Sealdah Division click here

Source : Eastern Railway CMS Team Last Reviewed on: 01-01-2015  

  Admin Login | Site Map | Contact Us | RTI | Disclaimer | Terms & Conditions | Privacy Policy Valid CSS! Valid XHTML 1.0 Strict

© 2016  All Rights Reserved.

This is the Portal of Indian Railways, developed with an objective to enable a single window access to information and services being provided by the various Indian Railways entities. The content in this Portal is the result of a collaborative effort of various Indian Railways Entities and Departments Maintained by CRIS, Ministry of Railways, Government of India.