Screen Reader Access Skip to Main Content Font Size   Increase Font size Normal Font Decrease Font size
Indian Railway main logo
Search :
Find us on Facebook   Find us on Twitter View Content in Hindi
National Emblem of India

About Us


News & Updates


Supplier Information

Passenger information

Contact Us

Bookmark Mail this page Print this page
Press Release: 71 Escalators Installed Across Stations to Enhance Passenger Experience

71 Escalators Installed Across Stations to Enhance Passenger Experience

Kolkata, June 29, 2024 :

A significant step has been taken to enhance the passenger experience with the installation of a total of 71 escalators across various stations. This milestone achievement will greatly improved the convenience and accessibility of passengers, particularly senior citizens, differently-abled individuals, and those with heavy luggage.

The breakdown of escalators  is as follows:

- Asansol Division  - 9 escalators at 4 stations
- Howrah Division  - 26 escalators at 10 stations
- Malda Division  - 10 escalators at 5 stations
- Sealdah Division  - 26 escalators at 12 stations

The installation of escalators with numerous benefits, including:

- Improved accessibility for passengers with mobility issues
- Reduced congestion o­n staircases and platforms
- Enhanced overall passenger experience
- Increased efficiency in passenger movement
- Better management of crowd during peak hours

This development underscores the commitment to continuously upgrading and modernizing infrastructure to provide better services to passengers.

  Admin Login | Site Map | Contact Us | RTI | Disclaimer | Terms & Conditions | Privacy Policy Valid CSS! Valid XHTML 1.0 Strict

© 2016  All Rights Reserved.

This is the Portal of Indian Railways, developed with an objective to enable a single window access to information and services being provided by the various Indian Railways entities. The content in this Portal is the result of a collaborative effort of various Indian Railways Entities and Departments Maintained by CRIS, Ministry of Railways, Government of India.